Zimbabwean Writers Tsitsi Dangarembga and Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu Among Recipients Of The 2022 Windham-Campbell Prize

Zimbabwean writers Tsitsi Dangarembga & Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu were announced among the 8 recipients of this year's Windham-Campbell Prize. The award which is one of the largest in the world, in terms of monetary value is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. 

Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu

Across 10 extraordinary years, the Windham-Campbell Prizes have celebrated exceptional literary achievement and nurtured great talent by giving the precious gifts of time, space, and creative freedom. We are proud to mark our 10th anniversary with the most exciting list of recipients yet. Led by a trailblazing group of global women’s voices, these writers’ ambitious, skillful, and moving work bridges the distance between the history of nations and a deeply personal sense of self. 
- Michael Kelleher, director of the Windham-Campbell Prizes. 

Tsitsi Dangarembga 

The Windham-Campbell prize 2022 winners

Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe) – fiction 

Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu (Zimbabwe) – fiction 

Margo Jefferson (United States) – nonfiction 

Emmanuel Iduma (Nigeria) – non-fiction 

Winsome Pinnock (United Kingdom) – drama 

Sharon Bridgforth (United States) – drama 

Wong May (Ireland/Singapore/China) – poetry 

Zaffar Kunial (United Kingdom) – poetry

The award has been given to 8 writers annually, grants of up to $165,000 each. 

I desperately needed this award, as a writer working on the African continent. Few countries support creativity or the arts in a meaningful manner. Zimbabwe is amongst those that do so least.
- Tsitsi Dangarembga
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post