Five Nigerians from Nollywood Gain Voting Rights for The Oscars

Five talented individuals from Nigeria's renowned film industry, Nollywood, have been honoured with the prestigious Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences membership. Known worldwide for its illustrious Academy Awards, also known as "The Oscars," this esteemed institution has recognized the remarkable contributions made by these Nigerians to the world of cinema. By bestowing membership upon them, the Academy grants these extraordinary individuals the privilege of participating in the selection process for both the nominations and winners of The Oscars.

Five Nigerians from Nollywood Gain Voting Rights for The Oscars as new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The recent inductees include the accomplished veteran actor Richard Mofe-Damijo, visionary director CJ Obasi, prolific producer Jade Osiberu, and talented writers Kunle Afolayan and Shola Dada. Their remarkable contributions to the world of cinema have earned them this well-deserved recognition. Now, as esteemed members of the Academy, they join a prestigious group of global talents across various cinematic disciplines, who have significantly influenced the arts, sciences, and the hearts of movie enthusiasts worldwide.

Richard Mofe-Damijo

Expressing their delight and enthusiasm, Academy CEO Bill Kramer and Academy President Janet Yang warmly welcomed these accomplished artists and professionals into their esteemed membership. They acknowledged the immense impact these individuals have made on the art of motion pictures and the lives of movie lovers around the globe. This induction not only reflects their extraordinary talents but also stands as a testament to the Academy's commitment to embracing diverse voices and perspectives.

In the past, the Academy has faced criticism for its lack of diversity. A significant study conducted by the Los Angeles Times newspaper in 2012 revealed that a staggering 94% of Oscar voters were of white descent. However, since the rise of the #OscarsSoWhite movement eight years ago, the Academy has made notable strides toward inclusivity and representation.

Including these five Nigerian luminaries, the Academy takes a significant step forward in embracing diversity and promoting equal opportunities for talents from all backgrounds. By recognizing and honouring exceptional individuals like Richard Mofe-Damijo, CJ Obasi, Jade Osiberu, Kunle Afolayan, and Shola Dada, the Academy showcases its commitment to fostering a global film community that encompasses diverse cultures, perspectives, and narratives.

Enjoyed reading this entertainment news report? Support Greedysouth by buying the team a cup of coffee. Your support assists in the production of such quality reports. Thank you.
Mungwadzi Godwin

twitterinstagramI like sharing positive stories about Zimbabweans at home and abroad. I also write articles on Personal Finance, Fashion, Music, and Tech. Let's connect!

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post