Tanto Wavie - Amasungura 2 Album Artwork, Tracklist and more

Zimbabwe Musician Tanto Wavie has officially announced the release date for a project with his latest songs, titled "Amasungura 2." This 6-track EP comes with an unexpected twist—Takura, once Tanto Wavie's idol-turned-rival, makes a surprise guest appearance. 

Despite never directly naming each other, speculations began swirling around 2018. This was triggered by Tanto Wavie gaining significant traction on YouTube after remixing Takura's song "Ngoro Yemoto." The rumours of a feud between the two artists intensified, fueled further by suggestions that Takura's 2019 track, "Noise," featuring Mbira sounds, was a diss aimed at Tanto Wavie. This suspicion was validated in the visuals for Tanto Wavie's breakthrough hit, "John Chibadura," where the video kicks off with Tanto Wavie scrolling through the Instagram of American rapper Quavo. The transition from this contemporary scene to the bygone era of radio cassettes marked a moment where Tanto Wavie took a swipe at Takura, as the cassette below his was labelled "NOISE."

Now, both artists have come full circle, establishing themselves as powerhouses in their own right. In a surprising turn of events, they are collaborating for the first time on a track from Tanto Wavie's latest album, "Amasungura 2," set to be released on November 26, 2023. Tanto Wavie, also known as the "Founder of Two Sounds," presents a unique fusion of Sungura and Amapiano called "Amasungura" and a blend of Sungura with the Hip Hop subgenre of Trap Music, termed "TrapSu."

The 6-track EP features Takura exclusively on track 4, titled "Vanhu Vaye."

"Amasungura 2" follows the initial project released in 2022.

Here is the tracklist for "Amasungura 2":

  1. Favour
  2. Chigumbu
  3. Zvatanga
  4. Vanhu Vaye (Featuring Takura)
  5. Dhe Dhe Dhe
  6. Wanikwe Jesu
Mungwadzi Godwin

twitterinstagramI like sharing positive stories about Zimbabweans at home and abroad. I also write articles on Personal Finance, Fashion, Music, and Tech. Let's connect!

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post