MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 Edition

The MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs), held at Durban's ICC in KwaZulu-Natal at the weekend, still has everyone on social media talking. The fourth edition of the awards, which was watched by 500-million viewers, is still trending on Twitter.

The star studded event featured performances from Africa's top artists as well as international artists like Trey Songz, French Montana and Miguel.The show was hosted by comedian and actor, Marlon Wayans. Most South Africans will remember him from the popular show the Wayans Brothers, Scary Movie spoofs and etv favourite, White Chicks.

Wayans had a bit of trouble pronouncing just about everyone's name and kept referring to Mafikizolo as Mafikizulu. The duo opened the show with their hit single, Khona. The single won Song of the Year. They were also named the Best Group in the land - the mother land that is. If the MAMAs were the soccer world cup, Nigeria would be crowded the champions. Artists from the region won six awards in the main categories. Davido and Tiwa Savage were named Best Male and Female artist.

The event was well organised and every performance left the crowd wanting more. Some of the performers on the night included Fally Ipupa, Michael Lowman, Don Jazzy, DJ Clock, Beatenberg, DJ Kent, Big Nuz, Toofan, D’Banj, DJ Vigi, DJ Tira, DJ Buckz, Burna Boy, Sauti Sol, Ice Prince, Sarkodie, The Arrows, Khuli Chana, Dr Sid, Davido, Uhuru, Oskido, Professor, Tiwa Savage, Flavour, Diamond, Phyno and Yuri da Cunha.

BET International will premiere the show on June 12. The show will be broadcast in all international territories throughout the summer.

A Complete list of winners of the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards follows:

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” - Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)

Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)

Song of the Year: “Khona” - Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)

Best International: Pharrell

Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)

Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Previous Post Next Post