Zimbabwe Crowned ICC Women's T20 Africa Champions

The lady Chevrons were victorious this past Sunday in the final of the ICC Women's T20 Africa tournament. They a hard fought 13 run victory over Namibia which saw them complete the tournament unbeaten. The win saw Zimbabwe earn an automatic spot at the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier scheduled for next year. The tournament held in Botswana featured 11 countries: Zimbabwe, Namibia, Uganda, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Cameroon, Tanzania, Rwanda, Botswana, Mozambique and Eswatini.

The team was not only victorious but a few players also walked away with individual awards:

Bowler of the Tournament - Loryn Phiri 

Batslady of the tournament - Modester Mupachikwa

The T20 World Cup qualifiers scheduled for next year and whose host is yet to be announced will be the last stage before the 2023 T20 World Cup set for South Africa. 

The lady Chevrons are also set to be competing at home in their next tournament as recently the International Cricket Council announced that the Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier for the 50-over game which was earlier postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic will now be hosted by Zimbabwe from November 21 to December 5. The event has been postponed thrice and has now been shifted to Zimbabwe from Sri Lanka.

The tournament will comprise of ten teams and will decide the three qualifiers for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022.

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post