Tanatswa Amanda Chikaura among 2023 Diana Award recipients for her Mental Health advocacy works

Tanatswa Amanda Chikaura recognized for works at Ndinewe Foundation 

Today, on Friday, June 30, 2023, the highly anticipated announcement of the Diana Award recipients took place. This prestigious honour cohosted by Vee Kativhu celebrates the outstanding achievements of 180 young individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to humanitarian work and social causes. As a tribute to the late Princess Diana, whose birthday falls on July 1, the list of awardees was unveiled, marking an occasion that exemplifies the spirit of compassion and service.

Tanatswa Amanda Chikaura among 2023 Diana Award recipients for her Mental Health advocacy works

Among the remarkable recipients of the 2023 Diana Awards is Tanatswa Amanda Chikaura, an inspiring mental health advocate hailing from Zimbabwe. Tanatswa proudly shared her achievement on Twitter, expressing gratitude for being recognized for her profound contributions to mental health awareness through her organization, Ndinewe Zimbabwe.

Before completing her psychology degree, Tanatswa volunteered extensively and actively participated in panel discussions, garnering recognition within the field. Driven by her passion, she founded the 'Ndinewe Foundation,' an organization committed to providing mental health education to marginalized urban areas. Through their impactful work, the foundation reached over 7,200 individuals via social media platforms, while 200 young people benefited from their support and workshops. Tanatswa's unwavering advocacy efforts fostered collaborations with the Ministry of Youth, the police force, and professional psychologists, influencing national policies such as the National Sexual Harassment Policy. The relentless pursuit of her goals has made her a role model and a source of inspiration for her peers.

In addition to her outstanding advocacy work, Tanatswa Chikaura is currently pursuing a Master of Philosophy in Basic and Translational Neuroscience at the prestigious University of Cambridge. Prior to this, she earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Philosophy from the University of Zimbabwe, laying a solid foundation for her continued academic endeavours and commitment to making a positive impact in the field of mental health.

Established in memory of Diana, Princess of Wales, the Diana Award is presented by the charity of the same name, with the support and involvement of her sons, HRH The Prince of Wales and Prince Harry, The Duke of Sussex. This distinguished accolade recognizes exceptional young leaders who are transforming their communities, driving lasting change, and advocating for a fairer and more equitable society.

Despite their diverse causes and backgrounds, all Diana Award recipients share an innate desire to effect positive change, inspiring and mobilizing others to join them on their transformative journeys. The active involvement of Diana's sons in the organization underscores their commitment to honouring their mother's legacy and empowering the next generation of compassionate leaders.

As a testament to their dedication and support, Prince William and Prince Harry filmed special video messages to congratulate the 2023 Diana Award recipients. These heartfelt messages highlight the significance of the recipients' achievements and acknowledge the impact they have made in their respective fields.

The nomination process for the Diana Award is conducted online, ensuring a fair and accessible system for all deserving candidates. To be eligible for this esteemed recognition, nominees must be between the ages of 9 and 25 and have dedicated a minimum of 12 months to their activities. It is imperative that nominators have a professional relationship with the young person, such as being their teacher or youth worker, to ensure the credibility and authenticity of the nomination.

Diana Award recipients will receive their well-deserved certificates by post and will be celebrated at a virtual Award Ceremony held in June/July 2023. Additionally, all recipients of The Diana Award from 2022 to 2023 will be eligible for the Legacy Award, an esteemed distinction awarded on a biennial basis. The forthcoming Legacy Award ceremony, scheduled for late 2023, promises to be a momentous occasion, further highlighting the enduring impact of these exceptional young individuals.

Enjoyed reading this entertainment news report? Support Greedysouth by buying the team a cup of coffee. Your support assists in the production of such quality reports. Thank you.
Mungwadzi Godwin

twitterinstagramI like sharing positive stories about Zimbabweans at home and abroad. I also write articles on Personal Finance, Fashion, Music, and Tech. Let's connect!

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post